PSU Logo

Sustainability Councils, Chairs and Charters

Sustainability Councils & Chairs


Sustainability Councils, Chairs and Charters

Each College and unit at Penn State is invited to create a Sustainability Council. The purpose of the Sustainability Council is to strategically advance the University's sustainability goals from within its unit. Each Sustainability Council is headed by a Chair and composed of faculty, staff, students and stakeholders. Councils are seated by the Dean or Chancellor to provide leadership and ensure their college/campus is sustainable in all efforts, including research, teaching and operations. Chairs play a key role in identifying short- and long- term sustainability goals and strategies, creating a sustainability charter for the unit, and aligning the unit's unique mission and goals with the sustainable development goals of UN Agenda 2030. Below is a regularly updated list of current councils, chairs and charters.

Juliet PintoPenn State Bellisario College of Communications
Juliet Pinto, Council Chair






Benjamin M GoldmanPenn State University Libraries
Ben Goldman, Council Chair






Penn State College of Engineering
Sustainability Charter
Rachel Brennan, Council Chair




Penn State College of Medicine
Sarah Bronson, Council Chair






Penn State College of Nursing
Sustainability Charter
Darlene Clark, Council Chair





Penn State Smeal College of Business
Sustainability Charter
Erik Foley, Council Chair




Amit SharmaPenn State College of Health and Human Development
Amit Sharma, Council Chair





Penn State College of Arts & Architecture
Sustainability Charter
Mihyun Kang, Council Chair
More about this council


Penn State College of Liberal Arts
Sustainability Charter
Janet Swim, Council Chair






Eberly College of Science
Charles T. Anderson, Council Chair






Penn State College of Earth and Mineral Sciences
Tim White, Council Chair






If you are interested in learning more about Sustainability Councils, Chairs and Charters, please contact the Sustainability Institute by calling or emailing: 814-865-7488 /